THE CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF POWASSAN



-MINUTES-

Regular Council Meeting Tuesday, January 2, 2007 7:00 p.m., Council Chambers

Present: Bob Young, Mayor

Nancy Barner, Councillor Blair Beatty, Councillor Gerry Giesler, Councillor Roger Glabb, Councillor Peter McIsaac, Councillor George Thompson, Councillor

Staff: Roger Labelle, CAO-Clerk;

Media: Laurel Campbell, Almaguin News

Disclosure of Monetary Interest and General Nature Thereof: Councillor Glabb declared conflict as his employer is mentioned in the Accounts Payable listing.

Resolutions:

2007-01 Moved by: George Thompson Seconded by: Roger Glabb

That the agenda of the regular Council meeting of January 2, 2007 be approved. Carried.

2007-02 Moved by: Nancy Barner; Seconded by: Blair Beatty

That the minutes of the regular Council meeting of December 19, 2006 be adopted. Carried.

2007-03 Moved by: Nancy Barner; Seconded by: Blair Beatty

That the minutes of the Trout Creek Community Centre Board meeting of December 11, 2006 be received; and

Further that Motion 2006-42 regarding the TSH Facility Structural Inspection be approved. Carried.

2007-04 Moved by: Blair Beatty; Seconded by: Nancy Barner

That the accounts payable listings in the amount of \$39,999.30 dated December 21, 2006 be approved for payment. **Carried**.

2007-05 Moved by: George Thompson; Seconded by: Peter McIsaac

That the following municipal officials be authorized to attend the FONOM/MMAH municipal conference scheduled from May 9 to 11, 2007 in Kirkland Lake:

1. Mayor Young

2. Councillor Barner Carried.

2007-06 Moved by: Nancy Barner; Seconded by: Blair Beatty

That the month of January 2007 be proclaimed Crime Stoppers Month in the Municipality of Powassan. **Carried**.

2007-07 Moved by: Roger Glabb; Seconded by: Peter McIsaac

That the Council of the Municipality of Powassan hereby nominates Bill Vrebosch Mayor of East Ferris Township to the ROMA Executive as Zone 9 representative. **Carried**.

2007-08 Moved by: Roger Glabb; Seconded by: George Thompson That the 2007 Northeastern Ontario Municipalities – Action Group membership fee for \$98.34 be paid. Carried. 2007-09 Moved by: Nancy Barner; Seconded by: Blair Beatty That Leslie Lawrence Straus be appointed to the Parry Sound Emergency Medical Service Committee for the term of Council. Carried. 2007-10 Moved by: Nancy Barner; Seconded by: Blair Beaty That Councillor Virginia Onley of Callander be appointed to the District of Parry Sound Municipal Association Ward No. 6 for the term of Council; and Further that the 2007 annual membership fee of \$150.00 be paid. Carried. 2007-11 Moved by: Blair Beatty; Seconded by: Nancy Barner That we hereby support the appointment of Kalvin Young, Councillor from Nipissing Township and Heather Busch, Councillor from the Municipality of Callander to represent Area 1 on the Eastholme Board of Management for this term of Council. 2007-12 Moved by: Peter McIsaac; Seconded by: Roger Glabb That we hereby support the appointment of Wendy Billingsley, Mayor from Nipissing Township and Virginia Onley, Councillor from the Municipality of Callander to the District Social Services Administration Board for this term of Council. Carried. 2007-13 Moved by: George Thomspon; Seconded by: Peter McIsaac That Council now adjourn to closed session at 7:35 pm to discuss the personnel matters. Carried 2007-14 Moved by: Roger Glabb; Seconded by: Peter McIsaac That Council now reconvenes to regular session at 7:55 pm. Carried. 2007-15 Moved by: George Thompson; Seconded by: Roger Glabb That By-law 2007-01 to appoint an Economic Development Officer be approved. Carried 2007-16 Moved by: Peter McIsaac; Seconded by: George Thompson That Council now adjourns at 8:00 pm. Carried. CAO- Clerk Mayor